Facebook Twitter   
            
Auditor HomeElectionsFinancial ServicesLicensingRecordingContact UsLocate Us
 
 
Vehicle Licensing
 
 
  Previously Owned Vehicles
   

 

With a Washington State title
  You are required to transfer the title within 15 days of purchase or you will be charged a penalty of up to $125.00.

The following documentation is required:

  • Washington State title or affidavit in lieu of title with proper signatures
  • Notarized signatures of every registered name to be shown on the new title
  • Bill of Sale signed by seller
  • Federal Odometer Statement if the vehicle is 9 years old or newer
  • Emmission test if you live in an emmision testing area
  • Name and address of lien holder
With out of state plates and documentation
  The following documentation is required:
  • Title with proper signatures
  • Notarized signatures of every registered name to be shown on the new title
  • Bill of Sale signed by seller
  • Federal Odometer Statement if the vehicle is 9 years old or newer
  • Emission test if you live in an emission testing area
  • Weight slip for all vehicles unless the scale, unladen or shipping weight is shown on the title
  • Washington State Patrol Inspection
  • Name and mailing address of lien holder
 
 
  New Vehicles
   

 

Purchased in-state
  Dealer will process all required paperwork and obtain your plates and registration for you.
   
Purchased out of state
 

The following documentation is required:

  • Manufacturers' Statement of Origin (MSO)
  • Notarized signatures of every registered name to be shown on the title - this can be on a title application or in person at a licensing agency
  • Documentation of the purchase price - bill of sale or invoice from the out if state dealer
  • Federal Odometer Statement
  • Name and address of lien holder
 
 
  New Washington State Resident
   
 

If you are a new resident to the State of Washington you are required to license your vehicle within 30 days of becoming a Washington resident.

The following documentation is required:

  • An unexpired Washington State driver's license (RCW43.16A.050). A temporary Washington State driver's license is acceptable when accompanied by another piece of government issued photo ID
  • Out-of-state title. If you have a lien holder who is holding your title, you will need to provide a clear copy or fax of the title (fax: 360-786-5223)
  • Federal Odometer Statement if the vehicle is 9 years old or newer
  • Emission test if you live in an emission testing area
  • Weight slip for all vehicles (unless the scale, unladen or shipping weight is shown on the title)
  • Washington State Patrol Inspection
 
     
 
  General Information Links
   
   
     
 
  Leased Vehicles
   
 

Please contact your local licensing agent by phone or in person:

 
 
Office Hours       Holiday Closures
(Disclaimer)
  Elections Voter Services Elections Ballot Processing Center Financial Services Licensing & Recording Main Office
  2000 Lakeridge Dr. SW
Bldg. 1 Rm. 118
Olympia, WA 98502

Phone: 360.786.5408
2905 29th Ave. SW, Ste. E,F
Tumwater, WA 98512

Phone: 360.786.5408
Fax: 360.705.3518
929 Lakeridge Dr. SW, Rm. 226
Olympia, WA 98502

Phone: 360.786.5402
Fax: 360.357.2481
2000 Lakeridge Dr. SW
Bldg. 1 Rm. 106
Olympia, WA 98502

Licensing: 360.786.5406
Recording: 360.786.5405
Admin: 360.786.5224
Fax: 360.786.5223
  Deaf & Hard-of-Hearing: Washington Relay 711