Auditor HomeElectionsFinancial ServicesLicensingRecordingContact UsLocate Us
Online Primary Voters' Pamphlet, August 6, 2013
City of Tumwater - City Council, Position No. 6

Types of City Government - There are two forms of city government in Thurston County: mayor-council and
council-manager. Under both forms of government the council is the city’s legislative and policy-making body. All council members are elected.

The council enacts all ordinances, resolutions, and policies consistent with state law for the safety and welfare of the city’s or town’s residents. Ordinances may include local tax measures authorized by statute. Traffic, fire protection, police, land use, municipal services, business, and other regulations are overseen by the council. The council controls the city’s finances through the budgeting and auditing processes and by exercising general oversight. The council also makes contracts, creates subordinate positions, prescribes duties, and fixes salaries. The mayor’s role depends upon the form of government in a particular city or town.

Mayor-Council: Bucoda, Rainier, Tenino, Tumwater, and Yelm.
In this form of government, the mayor is elected and is the city’s chief executive or administrative officer and the ceremonial head of the city. The mayor carries out the council’s policies, administers day-to-day city affairs, and with some limitations appoints, supervises, and discharges subordinate officers. The mayor presides over council meetings and has a veto power over ordinances.

Council-Manager: Lacey and Olympia.
In this form of government the council appoints a city manager as the chief administrative officer. The manager appoints and discharges all department heads and subordinate officers and is responsible to the council for the proper administration of all city affairs. The council may discharge the manager but may not interfere with or bypass the manager’s day-to-day administration of subordinates. A council member is selected by the council, or by an alternative election method, to act as chairman with the title of “mayor”. The mayor continues to be a full member of the council with all attendant rights, privileges, and immunities. The mayor also presides over council meetings and acts as the ceremonial head of the city. The mayor has no regular administrative powers but may be required to exercise certain powers in emergencies.

All city and town positions are nonpartisan.

  Only voters residing within the city limits of Tumwater will vote on this position.
Statements are written by the candidates, who are solely responsible for the contents therein.
Debbie Sullivan Citizens for Debbie Sullivan Tumwater City Council, 5024 Lambskin St SW Ste B, Tumwater,
WA 98512, (360) 918-2739,,
Debbie Sullivan

With my professional experience and 10 years of service on the Tumwater Planning Commission, I have the most experience serving Tumwater. I’m well respected by my fellow Commissioners, who have elected me to serve as their Chair since 2006. I’ve worked with the people of Tumwater to provide the Council with a multitude of recommendations, including the Shoreline Management agreement. This recommendation protected our environment while allowing future development of the brewery property.

I’ll use my professional experience in private, government and non-profit organizations to promote smart and balanced growth, manage Tumwater’s budget and assets to make Washington’s First City an even greater place to live.

I’ve been endorsed by former Councilmember Judi Hoefling, who held this position until her retirement last December, Councilmember Ed Hildreth, the Tumwater Firefighters, Representative Chris Reykdal, Sheriff John Snaza and many others.

I’ll work for you and I ask for your vote. Thank you!

Kyle Taylor Lucas People for Kyle Taylor Lucas, 1841 Trosper Rd SW # 4, Tumwater, WA 98512, (360) 742-3124,,
Kyle Taylor Lucas

Since unanimous appointment to Council, Kyle has listened to citizens and worked to protect essential services, public safety, seniors, and families. Her priorities include livable wage jobs, affordable housing, a healthy environment, and strong neighborhoods.

Kyle is a respected and proven leader who brings twenty years of public service in resolving complex policy issues. She is a former state agency director and was appointed to the executive teams of two Public Lands Commissioners.

Tumwater has great potential for economic and cultural vitality. Kyle will work to ensure a clean economy with development complimenting its history, neighborhoods, and environment.

Kyle is endorsed by Tumwater Mayor Pete Kmet, Senator Karen Fraser, County Treasurer Shawn Myers, County Commissioners Karen Valenzuela and Sandra Romero, County Assessor Steven Drew, Tumwater Councilmembers Neil McClanahan, Tom Oliva, John Way, and many more local leaders and organizations. Please join the above leaders with your vote for Kyle.

Ballots will begin arriving October 17, 2013. If you have not received your ballot by October 24,
contact our office immediately.

Phone: (360) 786-5408     TTY: (360) 754-2933

Published by the Thurston County Auditor's Office
Office Hours       Holiday Closures
  Main Office: Main Office Phones, Fax and TTY Elections Ballot Processing Center Financial Services:
  2000 Lakeridge Dr. SW
Bldg. 1 Rm. 106
Olympia, WA 98502
Elections: 360.786.5408
Licensing: 360.786.5406
Recording: 360.786.5405
Admin: 360.786.5224
Fax: 360.786.5223
TTY: 360.754.2933


2905 29th Ave. SW, Ste. E,F
Tumwater, WA 98512

Phone: 360.786.5749
Fax: 360.705.3518
929 Lakeridge Dr. SW, Rm. 226
Olympia, WA 98502

Phone: 360.786.5402
Fax: 360.357.2481