Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

   John Tennis
   360-709-3073

Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices

County Commissioners:
Cathy Wolfe
District One
Sandra Romero
District Two
Karen Valenzuela
District Three

Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Commissioners Move Transportation Benefit District One Step Closer

Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Thurston County Receives Smart Communities Award

Monday, December 15, 2014
The Butterfly Effect Art Piece Finds New Home

Wednesday, December 10, 2014
DUI Patrols Gearing Up for Night of 1,000 Stars

Tuesday, December 09, 2014
Dec 16 Hearing on Transportation Benefit District Proposal

Monday, December 08, 2014
Grand Opening of Chehalis Western Trail Pacific Ave Crossing Dec 13

Monday, December 08, 2014
Public Comment Invited on County Roads Transfer Proposal Dec 16

Friday, December 05, 2014
Thurston County Connection Newsletter is On Line

Monday, December 01, 2014
Thurston County Swearing in Ceremony on Dec 30

Monday, December 01, 2014
December 3 Planning Commission Meeting Canceled

Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Watch for Localized Flooding with Holiday Week Wet Weather

Monday, November 24, 2014
Holiday Bazaar This Friday and Saturday at the Fair

Thursday, November 20, 2014
Prather Road Reopens Nov 21

Thursday, November 20, 2014
County Offices Closed Nov 27 and 28 for Thanksgiving

Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Waste Less Food This Holiday Season

Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Shop Local, Give Local at Holiday Bazaar Donation Stations Nov 28 and 29

Monday, November 17, 2014
Hundreds of Homeless and Low Income Residents Receive HOME Consortium Assistance

Thursday, November 13, 2014
Watch the Wild Chum Salmon Run Nov 16 at McLane Creek

Thursday, November 13, 2014
Nov 19 Planning Commission Meeting Canceled

Thursday, November 13, 2014
Take the Plastic Bag Survey by Jan 10

Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Thurston Residents Urged to Stay Safe with First Cold Weather Blast

Monday, November 10, 2014
Thurston County E Mail Conversion May Mean Interruptions

Thursday, November 06, 2014
County Offices Closed Nov 11 for Veterans Day

Monday, November 03, 2014
Nov 12 Workshop on Lake St Clair Water Levels

Monday, November 03, 2014
Underage Drinking Halloween Party Located by Party Intervention Patrol

Monday, November 03, 2014
National Adoption Day Celebration, Thursday, November 20th

Friday, October 31, 2014
Thurston County Surplus Items for Sale on the Web

Thursday, October 30, 2014
Nov 5 Planning Commission Meeting Canceled

Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Local Farmland Protection Efforts Highlighted in National Conference

Monday, October 27, 2014
Calling All South Sound Crafters for Holiday Bazaar Nov 28 and 29

Monday, October 27, 2014
Party Intervention Patrol Locates Huge Underage Drinking Party

Friday, October 24, 2014
Property Tax Payments Due October 31st

Friday, October 24, 2014
Abundance of Caution for Local Resident Returning from Liberia

Thursday, October 23, 2014
Thurston County Risk Management Request for Proposal for Third Party Administrator

Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thurston County Wins Grant from Center for Holistic Defense

Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Flood Awareness Week in Thurston County Oct 20 to 24

Monday, October 20, 2014
Black Lake Basin Community Workshop Set For October 30

Friday, October 17, 2014
Woodard Creek Basin Community Workshop Set For October 22

Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Whats Accepted for Organics Collection Is Now the Same Countywide

Monday, October 13, 2014
Overnight Lane Closures on Pacific Avenue at the Chehalis Western Trail

Thursday, October 09, 2014
Public Hearing for Extending Marijuana Regulations Oct 28

Wednesday, October 08, 2014
Oct 15 Planning Commission Meeting Canceled

Wednesday, October 08, 2014
Thurston Commissioners Extend 2015 Budget Comment Period

Tuesday, October 07, 2014
4H Fall Clover Campaign Starts Oct 8

Monday, October 06, 2014
Stream Team Work Party at Yelm Creek Oct 18

Saturday, October 04, 2014
New L4 Bridge Christened at Grand Reopening Celebration

Wednesday, October 01, 2014
Public Invited to Comment on Thurston County Budget

Wednesday, October 01, 2014
Celebrate the Launch of the Thurston Bountiful Byway

Wednesday, October 01, 2014
County Continues Flood Mitigation Work

Friday, September 26, 2014
Come to Prep Expo 2014 This Saturday

Friday, September 26, 2014
Algae Advisory Posted for Clear Lake Near Yelm

Thursday, September 25, 2014
Grand Mound Construction Will Wrap Up by Mid October

Thursday, September 25, 2014
McLane Creek Basin Community Workshop Set for October 9

Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Oct 1 Planning Commission Meeting Canceled

Friday, September 19, 2014
Get Ready for Storm Season and More at Prep Expo 2014

Thursday, September 18, 2014
New L4 Bridge Opens to Traffic Friday Sept 19

Wednesday, September 17, 2014
No Cost Immunization Clinic This Saturday Sept 20

Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Public Comment Invited on Preliminary Docket for Comp Plan Amendments

Monday, September 15, 2014
Transportation Improvement Program Public Hearing on Sept 16

Monday, September 15, 2014
Call for Applications for Salary Commission Openings

Monday, September 15, 2014
Sept 16 Public Hearing on Proposed Stormwater Rates

Monday, September 15, 2014
Draft County Budget for 2015 Released September 16

Friday, September 12, 2014
Traffic Alert, Rich Road Southeast Closed Sept 15 and 16

Wednesday, September 03, 2014
Traffic Alert, WSDOT Work Near County Courthouse This Month

Wednesday, September 03, 2014
Get Flood Insurance Now Before Storm Season Hits

Tuesday, September 02, 2014
Thurston County Connection is on line

Thursday, August 28, 2014
Master Recycler Composter Application Deadline Extended to Sept 5

Thursday, August 28, 2014
Thurston County Offices Closed Sept 1 for Labor Day

Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Evacuation Drill Impacts Thurston County Facilities and Guests

Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Back to School Immunization Clinic

Thursday, August 21, 2014
Old L4 Bridge Is Gone and New Bridge Pilings Going In

Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Algae Advisory Lifted for Black Lake

Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Traffic Alert, Tilley Road Bridge Closed Wednesday at 7 am to 7 pm

Tuesday, August 19, 2014
How to Get Green and Opt Out of Phone Books and Junk Mail

Monday, August 18, 2014
Stormwater Rates Public Workshop Aug 27

Monday, August 18, 2014
Sept 3 Planning Commission Meeting Canceled

Friday, August 15, 2014
Traffic Alert, Tilley Road Bridge Closes Monday at 7 am

Thursday, August 14, 2014
Planning Commission Public Hearing Aug 20

Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Tilley Road Bridge Closed Aug 18 and 20 for Maintenance

Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Thurston County Veterans Advisory Board Meets August 19

Friday, August 08, 2014
L4 Bridge Closes at 630 am Monday

Thursday, August 07, 2014
Volunteers Sought to Help Reduce, Reuse and Recycle

Wednesday, August 06, 2014
More than 36,000 attended 2014 Thurston County Fair

Tuesday, August 05, 2014
One Week Until L4 Bridge Closure Begins Aug 11

Monday, August 04, 2014
Algae Advisory Posted for Black Lake

Friday, August 01, 2014
Final Two Days at the Thurston County Fair

Friday, August 01, 2014
Swim Advisory Lifted at Burfoot Park Beach

Thursday, July 31, 2014
Friday is Military Appreciation Day at the Fair

Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Thursday is Kids Day at the Fair

Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Final Speakers in Observance of the 5 Year Anniversary of Veterans Court

Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Thurston County Commissioners Hire New Head of Public Works

Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Thurston County Fair Opens Wednesday

Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Thurston County Surplus Items for Sale on the Web

Monday, July 28, 2014
Last Call for Discount Carnival Armbands

Thursday, July 24, 2014
Last Call for Open Class Foods, Art, Hobbies and Crafts

Thursday, July 24, 2014
Fun Filled Entertainment and Events at the Thurston County Fair

Tuesday, July 22, 2014
County Commissioners Thank National Guard Company with Proclamation

Tuesday, July 22, 2014
One Week Left for Fair Presale Discounts

Friday, July 18, 2014
First Fair Contest Due Dates Approaching Fast

Friday, July 18, 2014
Advisory Posted at Burfoot Park Beach

Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Public Invited to July Workshops on Stormwater Rates

Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Calling All Open Class Home Arts, Hobbies and Crafts Entries

Friday, July 11, 2014
Beat the Heat with Safety in Mind

Friday, July 11, 2014
July 16 Planning Commission Meeting Canceled

Wednesday, July 09, 2014
Calling All Open Class Baking, Beverages and Preserves

Wednesday, July 09, 2014
Local Groups Can Apply for Historic Preservation Grants

Tuesday, July 08, 2014
L4 Bridge Closure Set to Begin Aug 11

Monday, July 07, 2014
Buy Fair Passes Now and Save

Monday, July 07, 2014
Section of Thurston County Transportation Trail Closed July 12

Monday, June 30, 2014
Thurston County Offices Closed July 4 for Independence Day

Monday, June 30, 2014
Five Years of Veterans Court Success Celebrated Throughout July

Monday, June 30, 2014
Animal Entries for Thurston County Fair Due July 1

Thursday, June 26, 2014
County Urges Safe and Sane 4th of July

Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Calling All Vendors for 2014 Thurston County Fair

Tuesday, June 24, 2014
L4 Bridge Construction Contractor Selected

Friday, June 20, 2014
Sustainable Thurston Plan Wins Governors Award

Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Apply for Temporary Fair Jobs by July 18

Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over This Fourth of July

Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Exhibitors Guide for 2014 Thurston County Fair Now Online

Monday, June 16, 2014
New Closing Time for WARC Begins July 1

Friday, June 13, 2014
June 18, July 2 Planning Commission Meetings Canceled

Thursday, June 12, 2014
Road Work on Bald Hills Road June 16

Thursday, June 12, 2014
County Prosecutor Investigates Animal Abuse Case

Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Celebrate Our Puget Sound at PS I Love You Festival June 14

Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Target Zero Party Intervention Patrol Busts Graduation Party in Yelm

Friday, June 06, 2014
Target Zero Completes Click It or Ticket Crackdown

Friday, June 06, 2014
Safety Issues and Federal Regulations Mean Changes for Trail Intersections

Thursday, June 05, 2014
New Collection Agency Means Savings for People Facing District Court Fines

Wednesday, June 04, 2014
L4 Bridge Construction Set to Start in August

Wednesday, June 04, 2014
Tumwater Alcohol Compliance Checks Result in 40% Sell Rate

Wednesday, June 04, 2014
Thurston County Citizen Newsletter is On Line

Monday, June 02, 2014
New Grow Smart, Grow Safe app provides garden product safety information

Friday, May 30, 2014
Revaluation Notices Reveal New Property Values for 2015 Taxes

Thursday, May 29, 2014
Lock Down Drills Will Impact Thurston County Facilities and Guests

Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Open House on L4 Bridge Construction June 3

Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Plastic Bag Bans Begin July 1

Thursday, May 22, 2014
New Alliance Aims to Bring State Health Dollars to South Sound, Coastal Communities

Thursday, May 22, 2014
Thurston County Offices Closed May 26 for Memorial Day

Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Commissioners Proclaim May 18 to 24 Public Works Week

Thursday, May 15, 2014
May 21 and June 4 Planning Commission Meetings Canceled

Thursday, May 15, 2014
THURSTON COUNTY FAMILY COURT REQUEST FOR QUALIFICATIONS FOR EMDR CONSULTANT

Thursday, May 15, 2014
THURSTON COUNTY FAMILY AND JUVENILE COURT REQUEST FOR QUALIFICATIONS FOR EMDR THERAPIST

Thursday, May 15, 2014
Thurston County Veterans Advisory Board Meets May 19

Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Great Plants, Great Prices May 17 at Master Gardeners Annual Plant Sale

Wednesday, May 14, 2014
How Do You Improve One of the Best Heart Attack Survival Rates, Teach CPR at School

Tuesday, May 13, 2014
County WARC Adds Habitat for Humanity Donation Station

Monday, May 12, 2014
FreshPaper Joins Countys Waste Less Food Initiative

Tuesday, May 06, 2014
Thurston County Assessors Office Receives National Recognition

Friday, May 02, 2014
Planning Commission Public Hearing on May 7

Thursday, May 01, 2014
Secondhand Safari This Saturday

Thursday, May 01, 2014
Septic System Care Begins With You

Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Thurston County Commissioners Award Treatment Sales Tax Funds

Monday, April 28, 2014
Get Water Wise Garden Tips at Naturescaping Class May 31

Monday, April 28, 2014
Bridging the Gap Project Causes Traffic Restrictions

Friday, April 25, 2014
Clean Out the Clutter This Weekend for Secondhand Safari May 3

Thursday, April 24, 2014
County Commissioners Get Sneak Peek of Latest Plastic Art Piece

Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Commissioners Celebrate Earth Day, Thank Volunteers

Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Property Tax Payments Due April 30th

Friday, April 18, 2014
Local Governments Doing Good by Going Green

Friday, April 18, 2014
VOLUNTEERS SOUGHT FOR 2014 STORMWATER STEWARDS PROGRAM

Friday, April 18, 2014
Quick Title Service Coming to Thurston County May 5

Thursday, April 17, 2014
Countys Latest Plastic Art Piece Debuts at Arts Walk Apr 25

Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Thurston County Residents Invited to Special Water Quality Workshop

Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Measles outbreak in surrounding counties, time to get immunized now

Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Thurston County Veterans Advisory Board Meets April 21

Tuesday, April 15, 2014
4H Spring Clover Campaign starts Apr 23

Friday, April 11, 2014
Washington State Recycling Association Honors Three Local Programs

Friday, April 11, 2014
Spring into Green with Secondhand Safari May 3

Wednesday, April 09, 2014
Four Subspecies of Mazama Pocket Gopher to be Protected under the Endangered Species Act

Wednesday, April 02, 2014
Black Lake Basin and McLane Creek Basin Water Quality Workshop set for April 9

Tuesday, April 01, 2014
County Commissioners Proclaim April as Child Abuse Prevention Month

Tuesday, April 01, 2014
April is Public Health Month in Thurston County

Friday, March 28, 2014
Fair Foundation Dinner and Auction Mar 29

Thursday, March 27, 2014
Apr 2 Planning Commission Meeting Canceled

Friday, March 21, 2014
Comprehensive Plan Hearing on Mar 25

Friday, March 21, 2014
L4 Bridge on Littlerock Road Set to Reopen Mar 22

Friday, March 14, 2014
Agreement with WSDOT Approved for Temporary Littlerock Road Bridge

Friday, March 14, 2014
Celebrate Thurston Countys Bountiful Byway

Thursday, March 13, 2014
Thurston County Veterans Advisory Board Holds Special Meeting

Wednesday, March 12, 2014
High School Transition and Resource Fair for Young Adults with Developmental Disabilities

Tuesday, March 11, 2014
Repairs Being Done to a Second Littlerock Road Bridge

Friday, March 07, 2014
This Springs Hot New Trend Is Plastic Free

Wednesday, March 05, 2014
Thurston County Connection Newsletter is Now Available

Wednesday, March 05, 2014
Woodard Creek Basin Water Quality Workshop Set For March 12

Tuesday, March 04, 2014
Clean House and Clean Up at Secondhand Safari

Tuesday, March 04, 2014
Emergency Declaration Passed to Aid Mudslide Repair

Friday, February 28, 2014
Mar 4 Hearing on Revised Marijuana Regulations

Thursday, February 20, 2014
One Road Re opens as Some Flood Waters Recede

Thursday, February 20, 2014
Thurston County Surplus Items for Sale on the Web

Thursday, February 20, 2014
Littlerock Road Bridge Closed Again for Safety

Wednesday, February 19, 2014
More Thurston County Roads Closed for Water and Mudslide

Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Littlerock Road Bridge Reopens to Passenger Vehicle Traffic

Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Heavy Rain Closes Three South Thurston County Roads

Thursday, February 13, 2014
Property Tax Statements In the Mail

Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Beach at Olympias West Bay Park Closed

Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Grants Available for Substance Abuse and Mental Health Programs

Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Feb 18 Hearing on New Land Use Code Enforcement Title

Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Thurston County Offices Closed Feb 17 for Presidents Day

Monday, February 10, 2014
Thurston County HazoHouse Open Again

Friday, February 07, 2014
Thurston County HazoHouse Temporarily Closed

Friday, January 31, 2014
County Health Department Launches New Sodium Reduction Project

Tuesday, January 28, 2014
Beach at Burfoot Park Closed

Monday, January 27, 2014
Structural Deficiencies Cause Closure of Thurston County Bridge

Friday, January 24, 2014
County Officials Place Emergency Restrictions on South County Bridge

Friday, January 24, 2014
Joint Meeting of County and Municipal Planning Groups

Friday, January 17, 2014
Thurston and Pierce County Leaders Choose Legislative Appointee

Friday, January 17, 2014
Thurston County Offices Closed Jan 20 for Martin Luther King Day

Wednesday, January 15, 2014
Thurston County Historic Commission Awards 2014 Preservation Grants

Monday, January 13, 2014
Public Invited to Attend Deliberations for Legislative Appointee

Friday, January 10, 2014
Thurston County Veterans Advisory Board Meets January 13

Wednesday, January 08, 2014
Volunteers Needed for 2014 Homeless Census on Jan 23

Tuesday, January 07, 2014
Stream Team MLK Day Tree Planting along Woodland Creek

Friday, January 03, 2014
Public Comment Invited for Development Code Amendments Docket

Friday, January 03, 2014
Faith Communities Disaster Planning Workshop Jan 27

Friday, January 03, 2014
Three Planning Commission Hearings Jan 15

Thursday, January 02, 2014
Jan 7 Hearing on Interim Marijuana Regulations