Thurston County Solid Waste

 

Contact Thurston County Solid Waste

red arrow Please note: Solid Waste does not own or operate compost/garbage/recycling hauling trucks. All service is provided by a private hauling company (except properties within the City of Olympia, which are served by the City of Olympia Public Works Department).

Solid Waste staff

Solid Waste Hotline
ThurstonSolidWaste@co.thurston.wa.us
(360) 867-2491
General information
Gabby Byrne
Byrneg@co.thurston.wa.us
(360) 867-2284
Adult volunteers
Community events
Waste Less Food project
Peter Guttchen
Guttchp@co.thurston.wa.us
(360) 867-2283
School technical assistance (Food to Flowers)
Colleen Minion
Minionc@co.thurston.wa.us
(360) 867-2280
School presentations
Youth volunteers
Nicky Upson
Upsonn@co.thurston.wa.us
(360) 867-2590
Publications
Webmaster
Terri Thomas
Thomaste@co.thurston.wa.us
(360) 867-2279
Waste Reduction Supervisor
General outreach
Business technical assistance
Construction debris management
Carrie Ziegler
Zieglec@co.thurston.wa.us
(360) 867-2285
After-school and camp presentations

Address

Our physical and mailing address is:

Thurston County Public Works
Solid Waste
9605 Tilley Road S, Suite C
Olympia, WA 98512-9140

See a map of our location.

About us

Thurston County Solid Waste is your waste prevention and recycling resource. We provide community education, technical assistance, and resources to help you reduce waste. Solid Waste also operates the Waste and Recovery Center at Hawks Prairie and drop box sites at Rainier and Rochester. All locations also have a recycle center.

Mission

To promote waste prevention and sustainable resource use in Thurston County through education, technical assistance, and community building.

Vision

We see a future in which everyone in Thurston County makes informed and responsible choices about what we produce and consume, so that every day our community creates less waste.

Solid Waste is part of the Thurston County Public Works Department.

This page last updated: