words that say Thurston County

Critical Areas Update

News and Links

  View our videos about the Critical Areas Ordinance planning process .

To navigate Critical Areas Ordinance pages, see the left-hand navigation bars.

Thurston County Critical Areas Ordinance

The Growth Management Act requires local governments to protect five types of critical areas: important fish and wildlife habitat areas, wetlands, critical aquifer recharge areas, frequently flooded areas; and geologically hazardous areas, (such as bluffs). Thurston County’s critical areas regulations are a response to that law – they regulate how development and redevelopment can safely occur on lands that contain critical areas.

2013 Amendments to the Critical Areas Ordinance

Thurston County is in the process of amending the critical areas regulations adopted in 2012. The purpose of the changes are to modify the critical areas regulations for agricultural activities consistent with a negotiated settlement with the Thurston County Farm Bureau and the Washington State Farm Bureau, and to make changes to address issues found during the implementation of the new regulations over the last year. To see the staff report, please click here.

The Thurston County Board of County Commissioners will hold a public hearing on amendments to the Critical Areas Ordinance on October 23, 2013 at 6:00 p.m. in Room 280, Building 1 of the Thurston County Courthouse Complex located at 2000 Lakeridge Drive SW. For directions, please click here.

TCTV Show on Critical Areas Ordinance, June 2011

This page last updated: